Albert Closes $55M Series B Round, Terms Undisclosed
FinSMEs reports that fintech company Albert has closed a $55 million Series B funding round, though the source omits the lead investor, valuation, and closing date.
By Amara Osei
2 min read
Updated
What's News
- Albert raised $55 million in a Series B round, per FinSMEs
- The funding announcement was published by FinSMEs on Tuesday
- The lead investor is not named in the source
- The post-money valuation is not disclosed
- The closing date and use of proceeds are not specified
Albert pulls in $55 million in Series B
Fintech startup Albert has raised $55 million in a Series B funding round, according to a brief published Tuesday by financial-sector news outlet FinSMEs. The disclosure names the round size but does not identify the lead investor, the company's post-money valuation, or the closing date.
The Series B tag places the round in a conventional growth-equity tier for venture-backed U.S. startups, typically used to scale product, expand headcount, or push into adjacent markets. Albert has not issued a press release or founder statement that the source links to, leaving most deal mechanics unconfirmed.
What does the source actually confirm?
The FinSMEs item confirms three things and three things only: the company name (Albert), the instrument (Series B preferred stock), and the gross raise ($55 million). It does not disclose the lead investor, participating investors, the use of proceeds, the company's prior funding history, or the size of any earlier rounds.
Without a lead name or a quoted founder, this filing reads as a deal announcement rather than a full funding story. Comparable Series B rounds in U.S. fintech over the past 12 months have ranged from roughly $30 million to north of $200 million, depending on traction and existing backers.
Why a $55M Series B matters at this stage
A Series B typically signals that a company has moved past product-market fit and is now scaling distribution. For consumer-facing fintechs in particular, a round of this magnitude usually funds either marketing intensity, bank-licensing work, or geographic expansion. The source does not specify which lever Albert intends to pull.
What remains unanswered
Several standard Series B datapoints are missing from the FinSMEs brief:
- Lead investor identity
- Pre-money and post-money valuation
- Closing date and announcement date
- Use of proceeds
- Prior round sizes and total funding history
- Founder and CEO quote
Without these, the round's significance for Albert's broader capital structure can't be sized. A $55 million raise at, say, a $200 million post would imply meaningful dilution; at a $500 million post, far less. The source gives readers no handle on either figure.
What to watch next
The next confirmation points will likely arrive via an SEC Form D filing, an Albert press release, or a quote from a named investor. Until then, the $55 million headline stands as the only verifiable figure tied to the round. Watch for the lead investor name and the post-money valuation — those two datapoints will determine how this deal lands against peer raises in the consumer-finance category.
Source: GN: Venture Capital
More from Amara Osei
Show full bio
Senior reporter covering companies, deals and strategy in entrepreneurship, startups and venture funding at Business Bearings.
790 articles