Symetra Upsizes CLO to $459m; Endeavor Catalyst Closes $320m Fund
Symetra upsized its second CLO to $459m and Endeavor Catalyst closed an oversubscribed $320m fund, in a deal day spanning credit, PE, real estate and infrastructure.
By Nathan Brooks
5 min read
Updated
What's News
- Symetra closed its second CLO at $459m, upsized from $400m, arranged by Morgan Stanley.
- Endeavor Catalyst Fund V closed oversubscribed at $320m, lifting AUM above $850m.
- Silver Point led a $650m term loan backing Stryten Energy's acquisition of C&D Trojan, completed Oct. 1.
- JLL Income Property Trust closed a $68.5m loan at 5.54% on a 1.1 million sq. ft. Indiana distribution center.
- CIP's Advanced Bioenergy Fund II made its first investment: a 20-project Italian biomethane platform targeting about 1 TWh annually.
Symetra Investment Management closed its second collateralized loan obligation at $459 million, upsized from an initial $400 million, while Endeavor Catalyst held an oversubscribed final close of $320 million for its fifth venture fund. The two deals head a busy day across private equity, credit, real estate and infrastructure in the U.S. and Europe, according to Alternatives Watch.
How big is Endeavor Catalyst's new fund?
Endeavor Catalyst Fund V closed oversubscribed at $320 million, pushing the firm's assets under management above $850 million. Founders of Nubank, Revolut, LinkedIn, Snowflake, Checkout.com, Globant and Careem sit among the limited partners. Entrepreneurs from the Endeavor network make up 30% of the LP base.
Early Fund V investments include Replit, Moove, Preply, Cashea, Respond.io, EnduroSat, HappyRobot and Lunar Outpost, made alongside co-investors such as Sequoia Capital, Founders Fund and General Atlantic.
Across five funds, Endeavor Catalyst has backed 437 companies in 44 markets. Of those, 83 reached valuations of $1 billion or more and 39 have been exited. The firm invested in 12 companies sourced through Endeavor's European offices in the first half of 2026, up from 14 in all of 2025 and seven in 2024. European portfolio companies raised $3.3 billion in rounds that included Catalyst across 2025 and the first half of 2026 — more than any other region where the fund invests.
What does the $459m Symetra CLO look like?
Symetra CLO 2026-1 is backed primarily by senior secured loans. Morgan Stanley arranged the transaction, which carries a two-year non-call period and a five-year reinvestment period.
The deal follows SIM's $408 million issuance in 2025 that launched its CLO platform. SIM managed about $94 billion in total assets as of June 30, with a leveraged credit platform spanning high-yield bonds, bank loans and CLOs.
Who financed the C&D Trojan acquisition?
Silver Point Capital's direct lending business led a $650 million term loan backing Stryten Energy's acquisition of C&D Technologies and Trojan Battery Co., and syndicated it to existing and new lenders. Stryten, a portfolio company of Atlas Holdings, completed the purchase of C&D Trojan — a KPS Capital Partners portfolio company — on Oct. 1.
The combined company runs 18 battery manufacturing and component facilities in the U.S., Mexico and China, serving transportation, industrial, essential power, critical infrastructure and military applications. Silver Point's lending relationship with Stryten dates to 2024, when it led a $400 million financing.
Separately, Monroe Capital acted as sole lead arranger and administrative agent on a senior credit facility supporting Battery Ventures' investment in Phigenics, a Warrenville, Ill.-based water safety firm founded in 2004. Terms were not disclosed. Phigenics runs accredited laboratories, sells sensors and monitoring equipment, and offers the phiAnalytics software platform for water-management oversight and regulatory reporting.
What is LongWater building in industrial coatings?
LongWater Private Equity acquired a majority stake in Blastco, a Channelview, Texas-based provider of surface preparation, industrial coatings and tank rehabilitation services, in partnership with management. Jay Soper continues to lead the company. Founder Terry Warren, owner of TF Warren Group, retains a minority stake and a board seat. Terms were not disclosed.
Founded in 1983, Blastco serves municipal, federal, midstream and industrial customers. LongWater, which spent the past year studying the industrial coatings sector, plans to use Blastco as a platform for add-on acquisitions expanding its geographic reach, services and customer base.
Where did real estate capital move?
DWS acquired Palm Studios, a 544-bed student accommodation property in Seville, Spain, from LaSalle Investment Management through one of its institutional real estate funds — its first investment in Spanish purpose-built student housing. The property opened three years ago, holds a BREEAM Excellent certification, includes 111 parking spaces and sits five minutes from the University of Seville's Reina Mercedes campus, which enrolls more than 22,700 students. Terms were not disclosed.
JLL Income Property Trust closed a $68.5 million fixed-rate mortgage on Whitestown Distribution Center IV, a roughly 1.1 million sq. ft. Class A facility in Whitestown, Ind., northwest of Indianapolis. The seven-year loan carries a 5.54% interest rate. Built in 2024, the building is fully leased to a single tenant using it as its largest North American redistribution center. Industrial properties accounted for the largest share of the REIT's $6.9 billion portfolio as of Sept. 30 — 40%, or about $2.7 billion across 66 properties.
In Washington, D.C., Jemal Real Estate Strategies and DivcoWest formed a joint venture to convert 1255 23rd Street NW, a 342,000-sq.-ft. West End office building completed in 1982, into about 323 apartments, including up to 36 affordable units. Madison Realty Capital provided a $40 million loan for the acquisition and predevelopment. JRES, founded by Norman Jemal of Douglas Development and launched in late 2025, previously sponsored conversions in Syracuse, N.Y., and Richmond, Va., that created nearly 350 residential units.
Why does CIP's Italy bet matter?
Copenhagen Infrastructure Partners reached a final investment decision on Via Verde, an Italian biomethane platform, through its Advanced Bioenergy Fund II — the fund's first transaction and CIP's entry into the Italian biomethane market. Terms were not disclosed.
Via Verde's pipeline holds 20 projects across regions including Lombardy, Abruzzo and Campania, each expected to process about 60,000 to 100,000 metric tons of agricultural waste per year. Once all 20 projects operate, the platform should produce about 1 TWh of biomethane annually — roughly the gas consumption of 60,000 Italian households. With ABF II now deploying, CIP has a vehicle to replicate that model across European biogas.
Original: alternativeswatch.com
More from Nathan Brooks
Show full bio
News editor covering marketplaces and e-commerce at Business Bearings.
634 articles