Procurement Through National SC-ST Hub Up 39-Fold
The National SC-ST Hub reports a thirty-nine-fold rise in procurement as it expands support for small SC/ST entrepreneurs, though absolute values remain undisclosed.
By Olivia Hart
3 min read
Updated

What's News
- Procurement through the National SC-ST Hub rose thirty-nine-fold, per Organiser.
- The Hub operates under India's Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.
- The growth is attributed to expanded support for SC/ST small entrepreneurs.
- The source does not disclose base-year values or fiscal years behind the multiplier.
Procurement routed through the National SC-ST Hub has grown thirty-nine-fold, according to a report published by Organiser. That figure marks the single sharpest expansion metric attached to the programme and frames the government's case that support for small entrepreneurs from Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe communities is scaling.
The Hub, which operates under the Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, exists to help SC/ST-owned small businesses access public procurement. Its core promise is simple: connect these founders to government buyers and to the technical support needed to win those contracts. A thirty-nine-fold rise in procurement suggests that pipeline is now moving real volume rather than dormant listings.
What does the 39-fold rise actually measure?
The report attributes the growth to the Hub's expanded support offer for small entrepreneurs. Expansion, in this context, means broadened assistance rather than a single new policy lever. The mechanisms named in the coverage include:
- Wider outreach to SC/ST entrepreneurs across states
- Support services that prepare small firms to bid for public contracts
- Facilitation of procurement from these firms by government buyers
Organiser presents the figure as evidence of programme traction. The coverage does not break the thirty-nine-fold increase into base-year and current-year values, which limits what a reader can verify about absolute scale. A multiplier, however large, says little without the starting number.
The takeaway in plain words: the Hub reports dramatic relative growth, but the underlying procurement volumes are not disclosed in the source.
Who benefits and how?
The programme targets small entrepreneurs from Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe communities, a segment that has historically lagged in access to government contracts. The Hub's expanded mandate, as described by Organiser, concentrates on practical entry barriers: registration, bid readiness, and buyer connections.
For a small firm, the practical difference lies in contract access. If the Hub's facilitation converts a business that once sat outside the procurement system into a registered supplier, the multiplier effect on that firm's revenue can dwarf the headline growth rate. The report frames the thirty-nine-fold procurement rise as the aggregate outcome of many such conversions.
The caveat mirrors the promise: expanded support does not guarantee that every assisted firm wins contracts, and the source is silent on success rates or dropout figures.
Why the procurement number matters more than the outreach number
Government support schemes are typically judged on enrollment. Procurement, by contrast, is an outcome measure — it counts money actually paid to businesses for goods and services delivered. A thirty-nine-fold rise in procurement, if sustained, indicates demand-side change: government buyers are purchasing from SC/ST firms at a far higher rate than when the Hub began.
That distinction matters for policy credibility. Outreach can be manufactured with campaigns; procurement requires a counterparty to cut a cheque. Organiser's emphasis on the procurement figure, rather than attendance or registration counts, places the weight on the harder metric.
The one-sentence takeaway: money moving beats bodies enrolled, and this report leans on the former.
What is not said
The source report does not state the monetary value of procurement in either the base period or the current one. It does not name the fiscal years covered by the comparison, the number of firms that received contracts, or the average contract size. It also does not report independent verification of the figure; the number originates from programme-linked coverage.
Readers should treat the thirty-nine-fold multiplier as a growth rate in search of a base. Without the rupee value behind it, the figure demonstrates direction, not magnitude.
What comes next
If the National SC-ST Hub continues to expand support at the reported pace, the next test will be disclosure: whether the ministry publishes absolute procurement values and firm-level outcomes alongside the growth multiples. Sustained procurement growth would strengthen the case for the programme's model; a plateau would suggest the early gains came from a low starting point. For now, the thirty-nine-fold rise stands as a strong directional signal with the arithmetic left to the reader's imagination.
Source: GN: Entrepreneurship
More from Olivia Hart
Show full bio
Staff writer covering people, launches and day-to-day practice in entrepreneurship, startups and venture funding at Business Bearings.
737 articles